Wild Water

I thought I’d share with you a few pictures I snapped today.

We’ve had quite a bit of rain over the past week, and as a result, the rivers in the area have crested. While beautiful and amazing to look at- especially considering I know what the rivers look like at “normal” level- it also poses quite a danger.

Like me, some other people have ventured to the various rivers in my area and surrounding ones. The tragic result ended up being 4 or 5 people have already died this year from being swept down river, being battered on the rocks, and sudden hypothermia exposure. A dog was also a victim, as well as his owners, husband and wife. One must always remember to not get too close to the river. Another was a tourist, taking pictures of the wildly overpowering river that was cresting at near-record heights. Another was a woman who slipped in. One should always be aware of their surroundings.

Of course, I should also have heeded this warning. I wanted to get some impressive pictures of the water at this level, and while I carefully picked my way across the rocks- even I missed spots which were covered in black ice. It was on one such table which I slipped, after putting my foot out to make sure there was traction. There was, but I must have stepped a little further than I realized, because I felt myself slipping down. I immediately twisted to the left, so I wouldn’t fall on my bad side, and crashed down onto my ass. Ouch. I made sure to spread my arms, and I felt myself kind of stick there on the rock…. Much like a bug on a windshield. Lucky for me, I stopped before going over the edge, where that rock was totally slicked over with ice and would have put me right into the river.

Once realization set in that I wasn’t in danger of sliding in, I pushed myself into a sitting position, braced my cane into a rock and leaned against it, and started snapping pictures. I lasted about a minute- my nice warm butt melted the ice underneath me and sucked right into my jeans. Great. Soggy pants now. And a cold bum. I was able to shimmy up into a standing position, and by now Dad had come down to the rocks too… Surprised I went in as far as I had, but wanting to make sure I didn’t slip and slide into the river. Luckily, he missed my spill or he would’ve come and rescued me immediately. We picked our way back up to the car, and I somehow folded myself into the front seat and settled under my blanket. Returned home, got the pictures online, and took a 4 hour nap. The soreness is starting to kick in even though I iced my sore bottom… Aye. I need to be more careful.

~ by Snarky Princess on December 15, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
